Applying For That Job

One of the most intriguing aspects about life when growing up is getting the “perfect” job. We all dream for the job where we are doing what we love and love what we are doing whilst making all the money in the world. One aspect we fail to remember and realize when we do hit that point in applying for jobs, is the process of the application. I’m not talking about completing the application form but about the interviews, the anticipation of checking every e-mail or telephone call.  Hoping it’s ‘the’ job we wanted to hear back from. Everyday seems to go by a lot slower as I wait for that e-mail or telephone call congratulating me on getting the job. In reality, I will not get every job that I apply for and I realize that. Yes, not getting that job I applied for and wanting it is so very disappointing, but looking at the fact I went out, tried my best, showcased my talents, and went out of my comfort zone is a job and reward in itself. Every job that I don’t get allows me to grow, and get a step closer to that dream job that I always wanted. The “perfect” job is an idea that is “dream-like”.  Does it actually exist is another question but the search continues.  That realization has also pushed me harder to apply for that job that I maybe think I wouldn’t get, and get rid of that voice inside my head saying that there is someone else better for the position. You realize that there is “beauty in the struggle” which is often said, “as understanding rejection isn’t really rejection, it’s a sign to push you harder and keep doing what you do best”.  The perfect job search continues…

Leave a Reply

